ellie emerging editor awards 2023

2023 ASE Emerging Editor Award

The Australian Screen Editors Guild is delighted to announce its nominees
for the Emerging Editor Award.

There was a huge increase in entries this year, with two clear groups: Early Career Editors and Student Editors. And so it was decided to split the submissions along those lines.

We are also thrilled to announce that the Australian Film Television & Radio School –
one of the Guild’s longest standing Gold Sponsors – is supporting these awards,
in recognition of the work of talented emerging Editors.

The nominees are:

AFTRS Award for the Most Outstanding Early Career Editor

Alex Cummings

Cameron Drew - WINNER

Emma McGavisk

Sarah Panzetta

Michelle St Claire

Jarrod Young

AFTRS Award for the Most Outstanding Student Editor

 Mikey Burford (AFTRS)

Alan Chambers (WA Screen Academy, Edith Cowan University) - WINNER

Hamish Paterson (WA Screen Academy, Edith Cowan University)

Sara Riippa (Swinburne University)


Emerging Editor Award entries for 2023 have closed.


ASE Emerging Editor Award 2023

The ASE Emerging Editor Award aims to recognise new and emerging talent amongst
our members. It is designed to acknowledge editors at the beginning of their career.

An editor can enter themselves or be entered by a colleague or peer. The
colleague does not have to be a member, but the nominated editor must be.

Editors entering the Emerging Editor Award may be full, associate or student members. They must
not have been previously nominated for an Ellie award.

Entries may be from any category or genre, and may be a single entry, selection or
portfolio of work with a total combined maximum duration of 20 minutes. If the work is
extracted or cutdown from a larger project, or a portfolio of work from multiple projects,
please provide a brief explanation detailing this.

Applications should include:
(A) Their latest CV or work history;
(B) An example of their work (20 mins or less);
(C) A brief statement about the submitted work;
(D) A brief statement about their aspirations as an editor and the industry;
(E) A reference from a director or producer or editor they have worked with.
(F) Entry fee of $55 (incl. GST)

The submission should demonstrate their capability as an editor, and so should
represent their best work.

Eligibility criteria:
• Entries must have had their first theatrical, festival, or online release between
1st August 2022 and 31st July 2023; If submitting a portfolio, at least one of the
pieces in the portfolio must have been released within the above timeframe;
• Editors must not have been previously nominated for an ASE Ellie award or the
ASE Emerging Editor Award.
• If no on-screen credit is available, a letter must be provided from the producer
naming the sole editor of the work.
• The ASE Emerging Editor award may only be won once.