Held in the historic Eternity Playhouse in Darlinghurst on Saturday 15 December, the 2018 Ellie Awards was a successful affair, despite the stormy weather.

Nominees, sponsors, members and guests settled in for a lively awards presentation hosted by comedians Eliza and Hannah Reilly. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners, and to our brand-new Accreditee Edward McQueen Mason ASE.


Avid Award for Best Editing in a Feature Drama
Dany Cooper ASE - "Breath" - presented by  Randall Titus.



Audio Network Award for Best Editing in a Documentary Feature
Andrea Lang ASE - "Back Track Boys" -  presented by Jess Ossington to Sally Fryer.


The Blue Post Award for Best Editing in a Drama
Bill Russo ASE - "Blue Murder Killer Cop", Part 2 -  presented by Rachel Knowles to Peter Crombie.


Spectrum Films Award for Best Editing in a Documentary
Sam Hart & Harriet Clutterbuck ASE - "Hawke:  The Larrikin and the Leader" -
presented by Danielle Boesenberg from the ASE Executive Committee.


Endemol Shine Australia Award for Best Editing in Reality
Leanne Cole & Louise Massignat - "Married at First Sight", Series 5, episode 31 -
presented by Scott Rowan to Louise.


Videocraft Award for Best Editing in Factual Entertainment
Peter Crombie - "Body Hack 2.0 – Iraq" - presented by Rob Floro.


ASE Award for Best Editing in Branded Content
Andrew Holmes - "2017 Byron Bay Festival" -
presented by ASE Vice President Jenny Hicks.


Hyperactive Broadcast Award for Best Editing in a Music Video
Stewart Arnott - DMAs “The End”  - presented by Danielle Boesenberg
from the ASE Executive Committee.


ASE Award for Best Editing in Current Affairs
Leah Donovan - "Foreign Correspondent -  Machine Man" -
presented by ASE Vice President Jenny Hicks.


Digistor Award for Best Editing in Open Content
Karen Pearlman - "After the Facts" - presented by Andrew Mooney.


Adobe Award for Best Editing in a Comedy
Gabriel Dowrick - "The Other Guy", Episode 2 -  presented by Jon Barrie to Danielle Boesenberg.


AFTRS Award for Best Editing in a Short Drama
Katrina Barker - "Concern for Welfare" -  presented by Roland Gallois ASE.


ASE Award for Best Editing in a Commercial
Joseph Morris - "Foundry – For the New Creative" -
presented by ASE President Fiona Strain ASE, to Rohan Zerna.


In 2018 The ASE awarded Accreditation to veteran Editor Edward McQueen Mason ASE,
seen here with ASE President Fiona Strain ASE.

After the awards ceremony, Editors, sponsors and guests enjoyed the delicious catering of the Eternity Playhouse.

The chatter stopped briefly for the drawing of the Lucky Door Prizes, with everyone very interested to find out who would go home with the fabulous goodies provided by the ASE's lovely sponsors.

A copy of Adobe's 'The Cool Stuff in Premiere Pro' plus some other goodies was won by Danielle Boesenberg!
An Adobe Talking Creative Director Doll plus other Adobe goodies was won by Luke Richards!

(Jon Barrie from Adobe with Danielle Boesenberg and Luke Richards.)


Audio Network's prize of Audio Technica Studio Monitoring headphones went to Christine Cheung!

(Audio Network's Jess Ossington with Christine Cheung.)


Digistor's prize of a $6,000 software bundle went to Deb Peart ASE!

(The ASE's National Administrator Margaret Slarke with Deb Peart ASE.)


An Avid Perpetual License for Media Composer Ultimate was won by Andrew Cooke!

(ASE President Fiona Strain ASE with Randall Titus from Avid, and Andrew Cooke.)


And Spectrum's prize of two weeks in an Avid Edit Suite was won by Bettina Otterbuck!

(Fiona Strain ASE with Bettina Otterbuck.)


Congratulations to all the winners and a HUGE thankyou to our wonderful sponsors!